SRCDS Steam group


Post Reply 

[HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32

Author Message
Muppet Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 700
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
[HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
OUT OF DATE

Goto:

http://forums.srcds.com/viewtopic/5254

________________________________________________


http://youngteam.eu/files/tf2/v1.0.0.1/server.dll

Modded server.dll to allow for 32 players.

Back-up your existing server.dll from \tf2\bin before replacing.

After you've replaced the file, go to \tf2\cfg\valve.rc and open this file in notepad or something similar. Add:

Code:
maxplayers 32

and add the usual:

Code:
+maxplayers 32

in your startup parameters.
(This post was last modified: 10-04-2007 12:47 AM by Muppet.)
09-30-2007 12:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
manofphat Offline
www.NorthernResistance.com

Posts: 259
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: [HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
Good work Muppet!

[Image: manosig.png]
[Image: sigbar.gif]
Join the SRCDS Steam Community for live assistance!
09-30-2007 05:50 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Muppet Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 700
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: [HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
Cheers, you can get a 64 player modded server.dll too, but apparently weird things happen to the netcode, scoreboard etc.

Here is a proper 'HOW TO' of how to edit the server.dll yourself!

Using Hex Editor (I myself use PSPad), you need to open your server.dll in \tf\bin\ and search the file for the following set of values (I go to Search and type in 'C7 01 18' - instead of typing the whole line out):

C7 01 18 00 00 00 C7 02

and change the '18' to '20'

C7 01 20 00 00 00 C7 02


After you've done that go to \tf2\cfg\valve.rc and open this file in notepad or something similar. Add:

Code:
maxplayers 32

and add the usual:

Code:
+maxplayers 32

in your startup parameters.
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2007 05:59 AM by Muppet.)
09-30-2007 05:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Drunken F00l Offline
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: [HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
Nice stuff Muppet.

There is also a server plugin that you can get here that also removes the limit. Make sure you get the one that says "Player Limit Remover Windows 1.1 (TF2)" and not the other since the other one isn't for TF2.

The rar file contains a dll only, so you will have to setup the vdf manually.
09-30-2007 07:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Muppet Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 700
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: [HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
Cool, would be easier for people running windows now. Won't have to keep editing the server.dll every time there is an update Wink
09-30-2007 07:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Drunken F00l Offline
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: [HOW TO] Team Fortress 2 +maxplayers 32
Linux version coming soon too, if that helps.

Edit: Linux version now available. Same link.
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2007 06:22 AM by Drunken F00l.)
09-30-2007 08:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)