Posts: 367
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
0
batch file (srcds.bat):
@echo off
:NoCrash
Echo Server started: %time%
Start /high srcds.exe -console
Goto NoCrash
Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation:
0
So, I make that batch file and place it in my srcds folder. Then I start my server like normal using my desktop shortcut (see target line below)...
C:\srcds\srcds.exe -console -game cstrike -secure +maxplayers 22 +map de_prodigy -autoupdate
And the batch file auto executes. Is this correct?
Posts: 367
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
0
@echo off
:NoCrash
Echo Server started: %time%
Start /high C:\srcds\srcds.exe -console -game cstrike -secure +maxplayers 22 +map de_prodigy -autoupdate
Goto NoCrash
only the Start command has support for /high or /low priority settings.
Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation:
0
OK I gots it now, thank you. But, I read (I think on Valve's forums) that if you use "high" it takes away resources from some of windows required services, which is why "above normal" was suggested. Do you know about this? Like, is it true? Or have you done this yourself (used high) and suffered no ill effects as a result? If it matters, i'm running this under W2K w/1 GB RAM and a P4 2.0 Ghz.
Posts: 367
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
0
Running a process on anything above 'normal' gives the process more CPU time. So instead of windows delegating CPU processing time equally it gives srcds.exe a few vital milliseconds extra processing which can use some more RAM since more instructions need stored.
In my experience the source server does not need to be set at a higher priority level unless the machine struggles to run, in which case it can lead to major instability within windows. If you hit the right settings you should gain a performance boost.
Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation:
0
01-29-2005, 03:28 AM
(This post was last modified: 01-29-2005, 03:34 AM by Chicken Havvk.)
OK, i'll give it a shot or two. I have peeps complaining about lag, and i'm also hoping this will cure my server crashing from time-to-time. I think it may have something to do with the fact that i'm running bots, not sure. Anyway, I heard/read that setting to a higher priority may help with crashes if yer using bots. Can't hurt to try it and see what happens I guess. Worse case scenario the server crashes (and it's already doing that occaisionally). Anyway, thanks again for your help!
Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation:
0
It's a T1 running 22 players.
Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation:
0
01-30-2005, 07:06 PM
(This post was last modified: 01-30-2005, 07:10 PM by Ninjapimp.)
In hlds, you got choke and loss, if u didnt start the server in /high priority. As far as i can tell, that issue is still around in srcds.
As long as you dont have several processes in high, theres no problems what so ever. The only notable change is that loss and choke disappears. The server wont consume more memory or anything.
The thing thats happening is that all the background processes of windows is being treated after the server, witch is good.
oh, allmost forgot: syntax for above normal is /abovenormal
the levels are:
/normal
/abovenormal
/high
Posts: 367
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
0
sorry about that, i didnt test with start command i just launched it straight off the script :-\