Posts: 33
Threads: 15
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation:
0
Hi!
well, my question is simple, i want to lock the fps_max value to 250, so people cant change it from console or sm_cvar fps_max "600" for example.
How can i do this? i have +fps_max 250 in the launch line but with sm_cvar fps_max 600, it changes to 500 FPS.
Thanks in advance!
Posts: 226
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation:
1
+fps_max 250 +alias fps_max echo "Disabled"
Posts: 226
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation:
1
Not sure what sm_cvar is, you may wish to disable that as well..
Posts: 22
Threads: 5
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
07-02-2010, 10:22 AM
(This post was last modified: 07-02-2010, 10:28 AM by jheiv.)
fps_max is both a client-side cvar and a server-side cvar -- and it is not replicated -- so the client and server can have different values for it.
My understanding is that the server-side cvar controls the number of operations per second that are permitted -- see fpsmeter.org for a great resource.
The client-side cvar controls how many times you will recompute the image to be displayed on the screen -- more often than not, are you actually limited by your monitor's refresh rate rather than the game's FPS.
If you want to set your server's fps_max, you can set it in the command line or server.cfg file -- or by rcon. But this will not have any affect on what clients are able to set their fps_max to.
As far as I know there is no way to place a limit on the client's fps_max.
Posts: 2,031
Threads: 27
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
17
still you can probably write a plugin and change the value of the (server-side) cvar fps_max even if you have overwritten the command with the alias. so afaik there is no real protection against changing the fps_max cvar... you will have to limit the server fps by other means (e.g. try the BEpingboost library from my wiki and set the FPS there to 250 - not sure if that works but worse a try).
Posts: 87
Threads: 27
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation:
0
put the sm_carv for the fps to 250 like go into the sm_carv