SRCDS Steam group


Post Reply 

[RESOLVED] Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding

Author Message
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Exclamation [RESOLVED] Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
I was on a Garry's Mod server because i was new to the game and all. And someone told me that i had to port forward in order to have downloaded add ons work for other people to see. (He said maps could still be downloaded without port forwarding) I need help on port forwarding, i use Actiontec and i go to the Advanced Setup thing and i get to this, "Port Forwarding" thing in the setup and the options are, "IP Port Range" and below showing two blank boxes with "to" in between them. To the right of that it shows more words saying, "Protocol" and below that is a little click box thing that shows three options, "TCP" "UDP" and "GRE" I don't know which one to pick. And to the right of Protocol reads another option entitled, "IP Address" i assume this means the IP Address i used to get to Actiontec in the first place. And below showing more words reading, "List of Forwarded Ports" and to the right of that there's a box that reads, "Advanced ..." and finally below there are two boxes that read, "Back" and "Next" if anyone knows how to port forward with Actiontec then reply please.
An answer to this would be nice.
Again, an answer would be nice.
(This post was last modified: 02-17-2011 07:15 PM by realchamp.)
02-10-2011 05:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #2
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
A screenshot would be nice. Wink

Also addons do not require you to forward any ports.

But if you want an internet server you must choice the "IP Port Range".

And in the box on the left enter 27000 and on the right enter 27050. For protocol, isn't there an option like "both"? Or else set it to TCP and then do a new range with UDP. For the IP, this IP must be the computer the server is going to run on.
02-10-2011 08:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-10-2011 08:17 AM)realchamp Wrote:  A screenshot would be nice. Wink

Also addons do not require you to forward any ports.

But if you want an internet server you must choice the "IP Port Range".

And in the box on the left enter 27000 and on the right enter 27050. For protocol, isn't there an option like "both"? Or else set it to TCP and then do a new range with UDP. For the IP, this IP must be the computer the server is going to run on.

"and then do a new range with UDP" Uh....
02-13-2011 10:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #4
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-13-2011 10:01 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-10-2011 08:17 AM)realchamp Wrote:  A screenshot would be nice. Wink

Also addons do not require you to forward any ports.

But if you want an internet server you must choice the "IP Port Range".

And in the box on the left enter 27000 and on the right enter 27050. For protocol, isn't there an option like "both"? Or else set it to TCP and then do a new range with UDP. For the IP, this IP must be the computer the server is going to run on.

"and then do a new range with UDP" Uh....
Forward both UDP and TCP. I'm not sure what GRE is.
02-13-2011 10:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-13-2011 10:26 PM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-13-2011 10:01 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-10-2011 08:17 AM)realchamp Wrote:  A screenshot would be nice. Wink

Also addons do not require you to forward any ports.

But if you want an internet server you must choice the "IP Port Range".

And in the box on the left enter 27000 and on the right enter 27050. For protocol, isn't there an option like "both"? Or else set it to TCP and then do a new range with UDP. For the IP, this IP must be the computer the server is going to run on.

"and then do a new range with UDP" Uh....
Forward both UDP and TCP. I'm not sure what GRE is.

Okay, here's a picture of what I'm doing,

[Image: actiontecportforward.png]

Am i doing it right? and yes, I'm blocking the forwarded ports and my IP Address for security reasons.
02-14-2011 12:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #6
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile
02-14-2011 08:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-14-2011 08:40 PM)realchamp Wrote:  That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile

So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?
02-15-2011 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #8
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-15-2011 06:30 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-14-2011 08:40 PM)realchamp Wrote:  That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile

So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?

Yes. Unless your firewall is blocking something or possibly another modem. Smile

You can check it here, http://canyouseeme.org - if it says "success" you are good to go Smile
02-15-2011 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-15-2011 07:48 PM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 06:30 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-14-2011 08:40 PM)realchamp Wrote:  That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile

So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?

Yes. Unless your firewall is blocking something or possibly another modem. Smile

You can check it here, http://canyouseeme.org - if it says "success" you are good to go Smile



Firstly, you use too many smileys. And secondly, how do i find out what my "Port" is? is this an IP Address or something? i don't know what it is. The box was small, and i was confused. (The box on the website)
(This post was last modified: 02-16-2011 06:01 AM by Notshane.)
02-16-2011 06:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #10
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-16-2011 06:01 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 07:48 PM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 06:30 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-14-2011 08:40 PM)realchamp Wrote:  That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile

So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?

Yes. Unless your firewall is blocking something or possibly another modem. Smile

You can check it here, http://canyouseeme.org - if it says "success" you are good to go Smile



Firstly, you use too many smileys. And secondly, how do i find out what my "Port" is? is this an IP Address or something? i don't know what it is. The box was small, and i was confused. (The box on the website)
The port is the port of your SRCDS server, standard: 27015

Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Big Grin
02-17-2011 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Notshane Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-17-2011 06:30 AM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-16-2011 06:01 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 07:48 PM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 06:30 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-14-2011 08:40 PM)realchamp Wrote:  That seems correct. Now do the same one agian with UDP Smile

So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?

Yes. Unless your firewall is blocking something or possibly another modem. Smile

You can check it here, http://canyouseeme.org - if it says "success" you are good to go Smile



Firstly, you use too many smileys. And secondly, how do i find out what my "Port" is? is this an IP Address or something? i don't know what it is. The box was small, and i was confused. (The box on the website)
The port is the port of your SRCDS server, standard: 27015

Well, people can join my server. So the Firewall must not be blocking it. Thanks for the help with the ports and whatnot. There's another reputation point for you.
02-17-2011 06:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realchamp Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 7,774
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 83
Post: #12
RE: Garry's Mod 11 Port Forwarding
(02-17-2011 06:26 PM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-17-2011 06:30 AM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-16-2011 06:01 AM)Notshane Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 07:48 PM)realchamp Wrote:  
(02-15-2011 06:30 AM)Notshane Wrote:  So, basically, do all of the same stuff i did in the picture, but do it again with UDP? then i can host servers that people can join?

Yes. Unless your firewall is blocking something or possibly another modem. Smile

You can check it here, http://canyouseeme.org - if it says "success" you are good to go Smile



Firstly, you use too many smileys. And secondly, how do i find out what my "Port" is? is this an IP Address or something? i don't know what it is. The box was small, and i was confused. (The box on the website)
The port is the port of your SRCDS server, standard: 27015

Well, people can join my server. So the Firewall must not be blocking it. Thanks for the help with the ports and whatnot. There's another reputation point for you.

Thanks. Have fun Smile
02-17-2011 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)