SRCDS Steam group


Post Reply 

TF2 lan server

Author Message
elizle Offline
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
TF2 lan server
I was wondering if anyone has ever successfully gotten a Team Fortress 2 LAN server running. One that is completely disconnected from the internet. If so what settings are you using. Could you post you cfg file on here. I need some help because I am in charge of the servers for a lan party that my school is having. The networking people here will not let us have our game servers or lan party connected to the network. Is this at all possible? Or am I just missing something stupid. I am using a slightly modified version of the cfg on the sticky. It ran over the internet, but thats sadly not an option. Any help would be great.
Thanks in advance.
01-31-2008 08:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mooga Offline
Super Awesome Admin

Posts: 3,904
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Post: #2
RE: TF2 lan server
What problems are you having?
My recommendations:

1) In your start-up command, add -insecure
2) In your server.cfg add sv_lan 1

~ Mooga ...w00t? - SRCDS.com on Twitter
[Image: 76561197965445574.png]
Please do not PM me for server related help
fqdn Wrote:if you've seen the any of the matrix movies, a game server is not all that different. it runs a version of the game that handles the entire world for each client connected. that's the 2 sentence explanation.
01-31-2008 10:41 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Drocona Offline
Retired Administrator

Posts: 5,181
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 22
Post: #3
RE: TF2 lan server
SRCDS will always try to connect to the internet, if the internet is not available it will simply switch to offline mode and VAC will be disabled. Shouldn't be a problem at all.

Like Mooga said, use those settings, it won't be pending for VAC then (due to -insecure) and it knows it will be on LAN (it will still try get connection to the internet though)

Only problem with LAN is that clients take quite a long time to join, it's always been like that, nothing you can do as far as I know.

Join the Source Dedicated Server Support Group on Steam Community!
Source Dedicated Server (SRCDS)
Free to join, Live support! (When available)

http://forums.srcds.com/viewtopic/5114
02-01-2008 01:12 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
elizle Offline
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: TF2 lan server
I will try those things and if that doesn't work I will post my cfg monday when I get to work.
02-03-2008 09:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
elizle Offline
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: TF2 lan server
Ok here is what it is doing on the client side it is saying:
Disconnect: Invalid Steam UserID Ticket
On the Server side it says:
Code:
Console initialized.
Game.dll loaded for "Team Fortress"
Particles: Missing 'particles/error.pcf'
Particles: Missing 'particles/impact_fx.pcf'
maxplayers set to 24
maxplayers set to 24
Network: IP 192.168.10.1, mode MP, dedicated Yes, ports 27015 SV / 27005
exec: couldn't exec skill1.cfg
Executing dedicated server config file
Unknown command "mp_autoteambalance_delay"
Unknown command "mp_autoteambalance_warning_delay"
Unknown command "mp_friendlyfire"
Unknown command "sv_maxspeed"
--------------------------------------------------------
sv_pure value unchanged (current value is 0).
--------------------------------------------------------
exec banned_user.cfg: file size larger than 1 MB!
exec banned_ip.cfg: file size larger than 1 MB!
exec: couldn't exec ctf_2fort.cfg
Using 'steambeta1:27013' CSER server!
Could not establish connection to Steam servers.
Client "R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard!" connected (192.168.10.2:27005).
Dropped R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard! from server (Invalid STEAM UserID Ticket
)
Client "R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard!" connected (192.168.10.2:27005).
Dropped R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard! from server (Invalid STEAM UserID Ticket
)
Client "R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard!" connected (192.168.10.2:27005).
Dropped R3t4rd Xer0|Charizard! from server (Invalid STEAM UserID Ticket

here is the batch file that i am using to load the server:

Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Protecting srcds from crashes...
echo If you want to close srcds and this script, close the srcds window and type Y depending on your language followed by Enter.
title srcds.com Watchdog
:srcds
echo (%time%) srcds started.
start /wait /high srcds.exe -console -game tf -hostport 27016 +maxplayers 24 +map ctf_2fort -insecure
echo (%time%) WARNING: srcds closed or crashed, restarting.
goto srcds

here is the cfg file

Code:
// this is your server name as shown in the server list
hostname "Indiana State University OIT TF2 Server"

sv_password ""
// your server password. a pair of double quotes means it is not set and anyone can join

// start rcon settings

rcon_password ""
// your rcon password to log into the dev rcon console or HLSW rcon console
sv_rcon_banpenalty 5
// Number of minutes to ban users who fail rcon authentication
sv_rcon_maxfailures 10
// Max number of times a user can fail rcon authentication before being banned

// end rcon settings

// start cvars for balancing un-even teams

mp_autoteambalance 1
// 0 is off and 1 is on. if 1 then should be used in conjunction with the following 3 commands
mp_autoteambalance_delay 60
// Time (in seconds) after the teams become unbalanced to attempt to switch players
mp_autoteambalance_warning_delay 30
// Time (in seconds) after the teams become unbalanced to print a balance warning
mp_teams_unbalance_limit 2
// Teams are unbalanced when one team has this many more players than the other (0 disables)

// end cvars for balancing un-even teams

// start cvars for round and game times

mp_enableroundwaittime 1
// Enable or disable timers to wait between rounds. 0 is off 1 is on
mp_bonusroundtime 20
// Time after round win until round restarts (in seconds)
mp_restartround 20
// Time the current round will restart (in seconds)
mp_stalemate_timelimit 120
// Timelimit (in seconds) of the stalemate round
mp_timelimit 30
// game time per map in minutes

// end cvars for round and game times

// start cvars for win conditions

mp_maxrounds 4
// Max number of rounds to play before server changes maps
mp_winlimit 3
// Max number of rounds one team can win before a server changes maps

// end cvars for win conditions

// start client specific cvars

mp_forcecamera 0
// force dead clients to first person mode disabling freelook. 0 is off 1 is on
mp_allowspectators 1
// enable or disable spectators on the server. 0 is off 1 is on
mp_friendlyfire 0
// 0 is off and clients can do harm to team mates. 1 is on and players can kill or injure team mates
mp_footsteps 1
// footsteps on or off. 0 is off and 1 is on
sv_cheats 0
// allow cheats to be used by the client. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_timeout 300
// the amount of time in seconds that a client is booted for no input
sv_maxspeed 320
// the maximun speed a client can move at
sv_consistency 1
// Force clients to pass a consistency check for critical files before joining server. 0 is off 1 is on
decalfrequency 10
// the pause in seconds between a decal being sprayed

// end client specific cvars

// start cvars for communication

sv_voiceenable 1
// allow players to use a microphone. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_alltalk 0
// toggles whether both teams can hear each others voice comms or not. 0 is off 1 is on. recommend it being off
mp_chattime 10
// players can chat for this amount of time (in seconds) after a game is over

// end cvars for communication

// start download cvars

sv_allowupload 1
// allow custom decals to be uploaded. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_allowdownload 1
// allow files to be downloaded from the server. 0 is off 1 is on
net_maxfilesize 15
// Max download file size. Default is 15
sv_downloadurl "http://gameserver1/tf2"
//redirect download location

// end download cvars

// start bandwidth rates/settings

sv_minrate 20000
sv_maxrate 30000
decalfrequency 10
sv_maxupdaterate 100
sv_minupdaterate 66
sv_mincmdrate 66
sv_maxcmdrate 100

// end bandwidth rates/settings

// start server logging

log off
// enable or disable server logging. on is on off is off
sv_logbans 0
// Log server bans in the server logs
sv_logecho 1
// Echo log information to the console. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_logfile 0
// Log server information in the log file. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_log_onefile 0
// log everything in one file

// end server logging

// start cvars for general operation

sv_lan 1
// is this an internet or LAN server. 0 is internet 1 is LAN
sv_region 0
// server location. -1 is the world, 0 is USA east coast, 1 is USA west coast, 2 south america, 3 europe, 4 asia, 5 australia, 6 middle east, 7 africa
sv_contact eratcliff@isugw.indstate.edu
// contact email for sysop
sv_pausable 0
// enables or disables whether the server can be paused. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_pure 0
// forces all clients on the server to use content that matches what is on the server. 0 is off 1 is on
sv_pure_kick_clients 0
// kicks clients that do not have content that matches what is on the server

// end cvars for general operation

// start execute ban files

exec banned_user.cfg
exec banned_ip.cfg

// end execute ban files

If you see anything wrong please feel free to point it out
Thanks,
Eli
02-05-2008 12:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mooga Offline
Super Awesome Admin

Posts: 3,904
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Post: #6
RE: TF2 lan server
Was the client checked out of steam?

~ Mooga ...w00t? - SRCDS.com on Twitter
[Image: 76561197965445574.png]
Please do not PM me for server related help
fqdn Wrote:if you've seen the any of the matrix movies, a game server is not all that different. it runs a version of the game that handles the entire world for each client connected. that's the 2 sentence explanation.
02-05-2008 12:30 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
elizle Offline
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: TF2 lan server
The client was in offline mode.
02-05-2008 01:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
elizle Offline
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: TF2 lan server
Any ideas?
02-05-2008 04:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
d3matt Offline
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: TF2 lan server
anyone ever figure this one out? I have a LAN in a week and a half and it would be great if anyone knew a workaround
12-24-2008 04:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mooga Offline
Super Awesome Admin

Posts: 3,904
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Post: #10
RE: TF2 lan server
What problems are you having d3matt?
Will the LAN have internet access?

~ Mooga ...w00t? - SRCDS.com on Twitter
[Image: 76561197965445574.png]
Please do not PM me for server related help
fqdn Wrote:if you've seen the any of the matrix movies, a game server is not all that different. it runs a version of the game that handles the entire world for each client connected. that's the 2 sentence explanation.
12-24-2008 04:18 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
d3matt Offline
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: TF2 lan server
When I connect to my lan server in offline mode, after about a minute or so, I get disconnected.

Here's what the server shows:
Client "[DF] d3matt" connected (192.168.1.100:27005).
Dropped [DF] d3matt from server (No Steam logon
)



We might have internet access, I'm just prepping in case we don't.
12-24-2008 04:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mooga Offline
Super Awesome Admin

Posts: 3,904
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Post: #12
RE: TF2 lan server
You have -insecure in your bootup script?
And sv_lan 0 in your server.cfg?

~ Mooga ...w00t? - SRCDS.com on Twitter
[Image: 76561197965445574.png]
Please do not PM me for server related help
fqdn Wrote:if you've seen the any of the matrix movies, a game server is not all that different. it runs a version of the game that handles the entire world for each client connected. that's the 2 sentence explanation.
12-24-2008 04:39 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
d3matt Offline
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: TF2 lan server
sv_lan 0??? I though 1 meant it was a lan...
12-24-2008 04:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
d3matt Offline
Newbie

Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: TF2 lan server
I tried the sv_lan 0 and I got the same error again :-/

Here's what I see on the client side:

Secure Connection Failed
A connection to the Steam VAC servers could not be make. For troubleshooting network issues, please click the link below.

Click here to visit Steam support
12-24-2008 04:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mooga Offline
Super Awesome Admin

Posts: 3,904
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Post: #15
RE: TF2 lan server
Sorry, sv_lan 1 Tongue2
do you have -insecure in the start up line?

Post you start up line first...
And your server.cfg also if you want.

~ Mooga ...w00t? - SRCDS.com on Twitter
[Image: 76561197965445574.png]
Please do not PM me for server related help
fqdn Wrote:if you've seen the any of the matrix movies, a game server is not all that different. it runs a version of the game that handles the entire world for each client connected. that's the 2 sentence explanation.
12-24-2008 07:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)